For parents who are interested in finding out the balance of Mississippi child support, it's not a simple matter of adding up the number of payments missed. The custodial parent may only be able to provide an estimate of the total amount owed.
Calculating Child Support in Mississippi
As a general rule, the following percentages of the non-custodial parent's gross income will be ordered as child support payments:
|Number of Children||Percentage of Gross Income to be Paid as Child Support|
The amount order may vary if the child has:
- Special needs such as medical, psychological, educational, or dental expenses
- Income of his or her own
The amount of Court-ordered child support in Mississippi may also be varied from the standard rate if the non-custodial parent spends a significant amount of time with his or her children, he or she is seasonally employed, and/or the amount of expenses incurred to raise the children varies throughout the year. The Court may, at its discretion, order the non-custodial parent to find a job in order to make child support payments.
The Court takes the position that both parents should contribute to the support of their children. In a situation where the custodial parent makes a good income, the non-custodial parent is still expected to contribute financially to the support of his or her children.
Interest on Child Support Payments
In Mississippi, interest is charged at the rate of 8% per year on unpaid child support. The Court may order that a different rate of interest be charged payments in arrears.
Statute of Limitations on Child Support Payments
A claim for child support must be made before the child turns 18. Under the provisions of the statute of limitations, claims or child support that is in arrears must be filed within seven years after the child reaches the age of majority (21 years of age).
Finding Out Balance of Mississippi Child Support for Employers
If an employer has received an Order/Notice to Withhold Income for Child Support and has questions or concerns relating to finding out the balance of Mississippi child support owing, the Court Office that issued the Order/Notice is the appropriate agency to contact.
In most cases where child support payments are ordered, the non-custodial parent's pay will be subject to immediate withholding of child support payments. An exception to this rule may be made in cases where there is a written agreement between the parties regarding support payments or the Court is convinced there is "good cause" not to order that immediate withholding be implemented.
Termination of Child Support Payments
The non-custodial parent will be required to continue making child support payments until the child:
- Turns 21 years of age
- Stops going to school full-time and becomes employed (full-time)
- Gets married
- Moves out of the custodial parent's home into their own home and becomes employed (full-time)
The best way for non-custodial parents to keep a good handle on the amount of child support owing is to make sure that their payments are not in arrears. If they fall behind on their payments, interest charges will be added. The interest on the unpaid balance keeps accruing until the total amount is paid. In the case of people who owe several thousand dollars in back child support payments, a good portion of the amount is made up of interest charges.